Sophie Leblond 

Since completing her film studies at Concordia University in Montreal, Sophie Leblond has edited documentaries and fictional films for directors such as André Turpin (Zigrail, Un crabe dans la tête), Denis Villeneuve (Un 32 août sur Terre, Next Floor), André-Line Beauparlant (Trois princesses pour Roland, Panache, Pinocchio), Stéphane Lafleur (Continental, un film sans fusil, En terrains connus, Tu dors Nicole), Robert Morin (Petit Pow ! Pow ! Noël) and Philippe Falardeau (La moitié gauche du frigo).

Kim McCraw

 Kim McCraw began her career as an assistant director and production manager. In 2004, she joined the micro_scope team and became Luc Déry’s business partner, focusing exclusively on production. Since then, the company has produced 14 feature films, all well received at major festivals, including Incendies and Monsieur Lazhar, both nominated for Oscars. In 2015 the company will release Guibord s’en va-t-en guerre (Philippe Falardeau) and Endorphine (André Turpin).

Aily Nash

Aily Nash is curator of Projections, the New York Film Festival’s artists’ film and video section, and has curated programs and exhibitions for MoMA PS1, BAM/Brooklyn Academy of Music, Anthology Film Archives, FACT (Liverpool) and Image Forum (Tokyo). Her writing has appeared in the Brooklyn Rail, BOMB, Artforum.com, and Film Comment. She is the Film and Media curator at Basilica Hudson and has taught at Parsons The New School for Design and Bruce High Quality Foundation University.

J. P. Sniadecki

J.P. Sniadecki is a filmmaker and anthropologist whose award-winning films have been shown around the world. His filmography includes The Iron Ministry, Yumen, People’s Park, Foreign Parts and Demolition. He is a member of the Harvard Sensory Ethnography Lab and teaches in the Documentary Media MFA program at Northwestern University. He also co-organizes the film series Cinema on the Edge: the Best of the Beijing Independent Film Festival. 

Ivan Trujillo Bolio

Iván Trujillo Bolio attended the Centro Universitario de Estudios Cinematográficos (CUEC), in Mexico City. As a filmmaker he has been especially devoted to documentaries about nature. He was executive director of the Film Archive of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) from 1989 to 2009 and president of the International Federation of Filmic Archives from 1999 to 2003. He is now director general of the Guadalajara International Film Festival.


Eve Duranceau 

After graduating from the Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Montréal in 2000, Eve Duranceau launched her career with numerous appearances in television series. On film, she has worked with André Turpin, Denis Villeneuve, Sébastien Rose, Jean-Philippe Pearson and Olivier Godin, among others. She was cast in her first leading roles by Catherine Martin (Dans les villes) and Denis Côté (Elle veut le chaos). She went on to work with Chloé Robichaud in Chef de meute, Sarah préfère la course and the webseries Féminin/Féminin.

Francis Kandel

After making documentaries until 1992, Francis Kandel became the head of documentary acquisitions and programming for the topical channels in the Canal+ group and for the Planète + network, which he developed in Europe starting in 2000 in the role of editorial director, assembling major retrospectives (Frederick Wiseman, Marcel Ophuls, Raymond Depardon...). In 2005, he became head of international documentaries for Canal+. Since 2013 he has worked for Canal+ Canada as head of documentary acquisitions and programming.

Paolo Moretti

Since 2001 Paolo Moretti has worked for several film festivals and film institutions in Europe. Recently, he was a program advisor for the Venice Film Festival (Orizzonti section) and for the Rome Film Festival (CinemaXXI). He has collaborated with FIDMarseille and Visions du Réel since 2012. In 2014 he was named programmer of the Pariscience festival and director of the Festival international du film de La Roche-sur-Yon.


Sara Archambault

Sara Archambault is the program director at the LEF Foundation, and Programmer/Co-Founder of the award-winning documentary film series The DocYard. She is currently producing the feature documentaries Rainbow Farm (directed by J.P. Sniadecki) and Street Fighting Man (directed by Andrew James). Sara is a 2013 Sundance Creative Producers Lab Fellow and was cited among “Ten to Watch” in 2013 by The Independent.

Jay Kuehner

Jay Kuehner is a Seattle-based freelance writer, film critic, instructor and programmer who has contributed to several international film publications, including Cinema Scope, Film Comment, Fandor, Indiewire, Sight and Sound and Senses of Cinema. He programs Latin American cinema at Northwest Film Forum and teaches surveys on 21st century cinema and current documentary film practice.

Claudie Lévesque

Claudie Lévesque has worked in the media arts for nearly 20 years, including with the Montreal artist-run centres Les Films de l’Autre and Main Film. She has completed numerous exhibition and programming projects while remaining an active filmmaker. She has made a dozen short films, including several filmed in Super 8 and edited in-camera. In 2011, she directed her first experimental documentary, Ma famille en 17 bobines, shown at the RIDM.


The Magnus Isacsson Award was created to honour the beloved Montreal documentary filmmaker, who passed away in the summer of 2012. This award is presented to a socially conscious work by an emerging Canadian director. The Magnus Isacsson Award is presented by ONF, ARRQ, Cinema Politica and Doc Québec. The jurors are Jocelyne Clarke, Benjamin Hogue (Doc Québec), Sylvie Groulx (ARRQ), Annie Jean (editor) and Svetla Turnin (Cinema Politica).


The RIDM student jury was inaugurated in 2014. The jury of six students from Montreal-area cegeps will present an award to a film from the Canadian Competition. The winning film will then be shown in the participating cegeps. This initiative is part of the RIDM’s Youth Program, which includes a variety of outreach and awareness activities. It is presented by the CSN and Telefilm Canada in collaboration with the STM.


The Inmates’ Jury is made up of five inmates of the Joliette Institution, the only federal women’s penitentiary in Quebec. Johanne, Krystal, Madeleine, Marie-Josée and Yanie chose a winner from among the nine films from the Official Competition and Panorama screened for them. This initiative, a first in Quebec when it launched at the RIDM in 2011, is produced in partnership with Telefilm Canada, the Elizabeth Fry Society Quebec chapter and the Entente sur le développement culturel de Montréal – a project supported by the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications and the Ville de Montréal.